Tenure Track

Katherine Amato | Assistant Professor

Katherine Amato
  • Regional Focus:  Americas; Africa
  • Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Food; Development; Globalization; Health/Medicine; Evolution; Environment
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #A62
  • E-mail:  katherine.amato@northwestern.edu

Ana Aparicio | Associate Professor

Ana Aparicio
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Race/Ethnicity; Youth/Children
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #212
  • E-mail:  a-aparicio@northwestern.edu

Adia Benton | Assistant Professor

Adia Benton
  • Regional Focus:  Africa
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Post/Colonialism; Development; Health/Medicine; Race/Ethnicity; Globalization; Inequality
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman
  • E-mail:  adia.benton@northwestern.edu

Caroline H. Bledsoe | Melville J. Herskovits Professor of African Studies

Caroline H. Bledsoe
  • Regional Focus:  Africa
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Population; Health/Medicine
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #201
  • E-mail:  cbledsoe@northwestern.edu

Micaela di Leonardo | Professor, affiliate, Department of Performance Studies

Micaela di Leonardo
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Gender/Sexuality; Race/Ethnicity; Inequality
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, # 210
  • E-mail:  L-DI@northwestern.edu

Mark Hauser | Associate Professor

Mark Hauser
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Archaeology
  • Interest(s):  Race/Ethnicity; Environment; Post/Colonialism
  • Office Location:  1812 Hinman, #205
  • E-mail:  mark-hauser@northwestern.edu

Katherine E. Hoffman | Associate Professor

Katherine E. Hoffman
  • Regional Focus:  Middle East
  • Subfield(s):  Linguistic Anthropology; Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Race/Ethnicity; Inequality; Post/Colonialism
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #206
  • E-mail:  khoffman@northwestern.edu

John C. Hudson | Professor; Director of Geography Program; Associate Director, Environmental Sciences Program

John C. Hudson
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Interest(s):  Environment; Migration
  • Office Location:  515 Clark Street, #201 & 206
  • E-mail:  j-hudson@northwestern.edu

Matthew H. Johnson | Professor

Matthew H. Johnson
  • Regional Focus:  Europe
  • Subfield(s):  Archaeology
  • Interest(s):  Environment
  • Office Location:  1812 Hinman Avenue, #201
  • E-mail:  matthew-johnson@northwestern.edu

Chris Kuzawa | Professor & Faculty Fellow at the Institute for Policy Research

Chris Kuzawa
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Health/Medicine; Evolution
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #A54B
  • E-mail:  kuzawa@northwestern.edu

Robert Launay | Professor

Robert Launay
  • Regional Focus:  Africa
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Religion
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #205
  • E-mail:  rgl201@northwestern.edu

William R. Leonard | Professor

William R. Leonard
  • Regional Focus:  Americas; Asia
  • Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Evolution; Health/Medicine
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #A55
  • E-mail:  w-leonard1@northwestern.edu

Amanda Logan | Assistant Professor

Amanda Logan
  • Regional Focus:  Africa
  • Subfield(s):  Archaeology
  • Interest(s):  Food; Inequality; Environment
  • Office Location:  1812 Hinman Ave, #203
  • E-mail:  amanda.logan@northwestern.edu

Thomas McDade | Professor; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research; Director, Laboratory for Human Biology Research

Thomas McDade
  • Regional Focus:  Oceana; Europe
  • Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Development; Health/Medicine; Evolution
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #202
  • E-mail:  t-mcdade@northwestern.edu

Cynthia Robin | Professor

Cynthia Robin
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Archaeology
  • Interest(s):  Inequality; Gender/Sexuality; Population
  • Office Location:  1812 Hinman Avenue, #104
  • E-mail:  c-robin@northwestern.edu

Rebecca Seligman | Associate Professor; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research

Rebecca Seligman
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Religion; Embodiment; Health/Medicine
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman Avenue, #204
  • E-mail:  r-seligman@northwestern.edu

Shalini Shankar | Professor

Shalini Shankar
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology; Linguistic Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Youth/Children; Race/Ethnicity
  • Office Location:  1810 Hinman, #212
  • E-mail:  sshankar@northwestern.edu

Mary Weismantel | Professor

Mary Weismantel
  • Regional Focus:  Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Inequality; Race/Ethnicity; Gender/Sexuality; Art/Performance
  • Office Location:  1812 Hinman Avenue, #105
  • E-mail:  mjweis@northwestern.edu

Jessica Winegar | Associate Professor

Jessica Winegar
  • Regional Focus:  Middle East
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Art/Performance; Inequality; Youth/Children
  • Office Location:  515 Clark #106
  • E-mail:  j-winegar@northwestern.edu

Sera Young | Assistant Professor

Sera Young
  • Regional Focus:  Africa; Americas
  • Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Youth/Children; Food
  • Office Location:  515 Clark Street Room 202
  • E-mail:  sera.young@northwestern.edu

Emrah Yıldız | Assistant Professor

Emrah Yıldız
  • Regional Focus:  Middle East
  • Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology
  • Interest(s):  Religion; Gender/Sexuality; Migration
  • Office Location:  Kresge Hall 4540
  • E-mail:  eyildiz@northwestern.edu