Skip to main content

Graduate Faculty

Jump to Last Name:

Katherine Amato

Katherine Amato

Assistant Professor

Regional Focus:  Americas; Africa

Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology

Interest(s):  Development; Food; Globalization; Evolution; Environment; Health/Medicine

Phone number: 847-467-5890
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #A62
katherine.amato@northwestern.edu

Ana Aparicio

Ana Aparicio

Associate Professor

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Race/Ethnicity; Youth/Children

Phone number: 847-491-5132
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #212
a-aparicio@northwestern.edu

Adia Benton

Adia Benton

Assistant Professor

Regional Focus:  Africa

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Race/Ethnicity; Health/Medicine; Globalization; Inequality; Development; Post/Colonialism

Phone number: 847/491-2852
Office location: 1812 Hinman #101
adia.benton@northwestern.edu

Caroline H. Bledsoe

Caroline H. Bledsoe

Melville J. Herskovits Professor of African Studies

Regional Focus:  Africa

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Population; Health/Medicine

Phone number: 847-491-4825
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #201
cbledsoe@northwestern.edu

Micaela di Leonardo

Micaela di Leonardo

Professor and Affiliate, African American Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Performance Studies

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Race/Ethnicity; Inequality; Gender/Sexuality

Phone number: 847-491-4821
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, # 210
L-DI@northwestern.edu

Mark Hauser

Mark Hauser

Associate Professor

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Archaeology

Interest(s):  Post/Colonialism; Race/Ethnicity; Environment

Phone number: 847-467-1648
Office location: 1812 Hinman, #205
mark-hauser@northwestern.edu

Katherine E. Hoffman

Katherine E. Hoffman

Associate Professor

Regional Focus:  Middle East

Subfield(s):  Linguistic Anthropology; Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Post/Colonialism; Race/Ethnicity; Inequality

Phone number: 847-491-4565
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #206
khoffman@northwestern.edu

Chris Kuzawa

Chris Kuzawa

Professor & Faculty Fellow at the Institute for Policy Research

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology

Interest(s):  Evolution; Health/Medicine

Phone number: 847-467-4302
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #A54B
kuzawa@northwestern.edu

Robert Launay

Robert Launay

Professor

Regional Focus:  Africa

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Religion

Phone number: 847-491-4841
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #205
rgl201@northwestern.edu

William R. Leonard

William R. Leonard

Professor

Regional Focus:  Americas; Asia

Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology

Interest(s):  Health/Medicine; Evolution

Phone number: 847-491-4839
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #A55
w-leonard1@northwestern.edu

Amanda Logan

Amanda Logan

Assistant Professor

Regional Focus:  Africa

Subfield(s):  Archaeology

Interest(s):  Inequality; Food; Environment

Phone number: 847-491-4564
Office location: 1812 Hinman Ave, #203
amanda.logan@northwestern.edu

Thomas McDade

Thomas McDade

Professor; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research; Director, Laboratory for Human Biology Research

Regional Focus:  Oceana; Americas; Europe; Asia

Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology

Interest(s):  Development; Evolution; Health/Medicine

Phone number: 847-467-4304
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #202
t-mcdade@northwestern.edu

Cynthia Robin

Cynthia Robin

Professor

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Archaeology

Interest(s):  Population; Inequality; Gender/Sexuality

Phone number: 847-491-4835
Office location: 1812 Hinman Avenue, #104
c-robin@northwestern.edu

Rebecca Seligman

Rebecca Seligman

Associate Professor; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Embodiment; Religion; Health/Medicine

Phone number: 847-491-7207
Office location: 1810 Hinman Avenue, #204
r-seligman@northwestern.edu

Shalini Shankar

Shalini Shankar

Professor

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology; Linguistic Anthropology

Interest(s):  Race/Ethnicity; Youth/Children

Phone number: 847-467-1638
Office location: 1810 Hinman, #212
sshankar@northwestern.edu

Mary Weismantel

Mary Weismantel

Professor

Regional Focus:  Americas

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Inequality; Art/Performance; Gender/Sexuality; Race/Ethnicity

Phone number: 847-491-4822
Office location: 1812 Hinman Avenue, #105
mjweis@northwestern.edu

Jessica Winegar

Jessica Winegar

Professor

Regional Focus:  Middle East

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Youth/Children; Inequality; Art/Performance

Phone number: 847-491-4831
Office location: 1819 Hinman Ave #204
j-winegar@northwestern.edu

Emrah Yıldız

Emrah Yıldız

Assistant Professor

Regional Focus:  Middle East

Subfield(s):  Cultural Anthropology

Interest(s):  Migration; Religion; Gender/Sexuality

Phone number: 847 467-6254
Office location: Kresge Hall 4540
eyildiz@northwestern.edu

Sera Young

Sera Young

Assistant Professor

Regional Focus:  Africa; Americas

Subfield(s):  Biological Anthropology

Interest(s):  Youth/Children; Food

Phone number: 847 467-2174
Office location: 1819 Hinman Ave Room 105
sera.young@northwestern.edu

Back to top